Domain Predators

Domaining August 12th, 2008

This seems like quite a new but seemingly pervasive spam problem I’ve been getting recently as a result of having my details on several whois databases. I receive random emails from several different companies quite a lot now, which is definitely happening more than it did last year. Here’s just one example from ‘dcinchq’:

We recently acquired xyz.com with the intention of making it available to you. Since you already own xyz.net we thought you might also want the more desirable .com version.

You may have received a note from someone else recently offering the same domain for several hundred dollars. Our price is a one time acquisition cost of just $49.95.

This includes a year of domain name registration, full transfer of ownership to you, and we will even point your new domain to your current website at no extra cost (optional).

For full details please go to:

http://www.dcinchq.com/index.php?domain=xyz.com

If you are not interested in this offer simply hit delete and we will not contact you again. However, keep in mind if you pass on this opportunity someone else could purchase this domain and it may not be available again.

All the best,

Warren Davis
Digital Caucus, Inc.

Now I’m all for discovering new revenue streams but beyond the fact that this is unsolicited email and qualifies directly as spam, this is basically an extreme form of domain squatting. Identify people who own .net or .co.uk TLDs, then wait for the .com domain to expire or just snap it up if it’s available, and extort the money from the original domain owners.

I’ve also received emails from when I already have the .com, .net & .co.uk or whatever, then they send emails saying “we’ve bought abc.biz and we thought you might want it for $900″.

It’s almost as bad as those letters from Nominet demanding £90 for a .co.uk domain, when they cost about £6 on the open market. Disgraceful.

Anyone else had problems with this or heard of these snakes infringe on any trademarks?

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Furl
  • Slashdot
  • Technorati
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Google

2 Responses to “Domain Predators”

  1. Simmo! Says:

    I just had the same email today offering me the .com version of one of my .net sites. What strikes me as odd is that I had been receiving 2 or 3 emails in the previous 3 months offering it me for a whole lot more. I suspect they try this first and if no response, pretend to be someone else with a last ditch attempt. In my case, the $49 for the .com is actually not a bad price, but I’m not sure I’d want to give money to someone I’d never heard of with like a one-page website! That’s asking for trouble.

  2. rob Says:

    Yep good point - can you trust these unsolicited emails even if you *do* want the TLD they’re offering?

    I’ve also got quite a few domain reminders via snail mail, posted from Jamaica, asking if I want to renew one of my .net domains for $49! Why when I can renew it automatically with Moniker for $5? Even Nominet (the official UK registrar) send out letters asking people to renew .co.uk domains for £90, as opposed to the usual £6!

    This pernicious technique is clearly aimed at people who don’t know better, and it’s not fair. The domain industry must do something to further protect the privacy of people who choose to invest in domains; they are the foundation of the internet and need to be treated as such…

Leave a Reply